1951 Aintree Grand National – Nickel Coin

The race took place on 7 April 1951.

One of the most remarkable Grand Nationals ever ran. Utter chaos at the start saw twelve runners crash out at the first fence. Only three horses would complete the course, with 1950 winner Freebooter only getting as far as the second obstacle. Nickel Coin won the race, the last mare ever to win the race. Royal Tan finished second and would go on to win the National in 1954.

The winner carried 10 stone 1 pound. Incredibly, all 36 runners would return home safely.

Nickel Coin wins the 1951 Aintree Grand National:

Full race result:

1 Nickel Coin John Bullock 9 10st 1lb 40/1
2 Royal Tan A.S. O’Brien 7 10st 13lb 40/1
3 Derrinstown Alan Power 11 10st 0lb 66/1

Also ran: Cadamstown, Column, Confucius, East A’Calling, Finure, Irish Lizard, Land Fort, Parsonhill, Revealed, Stalbridge Rock, Stockman, Texas Dan, Gallery, Freebooter, Shagreen, Morning Cover, Binghamstown, Rowland Roy, Sergeant Kelly, Arctic Gold, Armoured Knight, Cloncarrig, Glen Fire, Prince Brownie, Tasman, Roimond, Partpoint, Queen Of The Dandies, Caesar’s Wife, Russian Hero, Dog Watch, Broomfield, Gay Heather.

Race time: 9m 48.8s

1951 Grand National1951 Grand National Race Card

Seen here is the 1951 Grand National race card, souvenir programme. A fascinating race but perhaps not one of the most historically significant. However, given its age it is quite scarce and therefore desirable to collectors. In sound condition, the race card would be likely to achieve a reasonably high price.